Segment or Not?

Submitted by Sue Castro

Ever wondered what the big deal is about customer segmentation in association meeting marketing?  You sure see it tossed around a lot. But is it really that important?  When done right, YES!

Most associations either avoid it because it’s too complicated, or they don’t know how to identify the segments. 

Identifying your member segments is as simple as analyzing your member database.  I know, that’s easier said than done.  But it provides the basis to communicate appropriately with each of your various member or attendee groups.  Does that matter?  YES!!!  Why? Because it creates a message that is more relevant and thus more likely to be read. 

Group of people

Think of the last time you purchased a book on Amazon.com..  Immediately, Amazon shot back a list of other books that were similar.  By your ordering a particular book, Amazon was able to place you in a segment and marketed to you.  It was likely pertinent to you and you most likely responded positively.  With everyone so taxed for time, it’s simply better to provide information that is relevant to people; not information we think will appeal across a broad audience! 

Segmentation demonstrates you understand your target’s needs and desires.  It also helps you craft a message that is valuable to your audiences; eliminating the need for your target to search around for the information needed.  You are giving it to them in a way that is relevant.  And saving them time. 

Think about what’s in it for your members the next time you communicate to them., They’ll be more responsive because you took the time to communicate to them in their language.  I’ve seen double-digit response rates as a result of segmentation. Try it and you’ll become a believer!

11 responses

  1. First off I want to say great blog! I had a quick
    question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind.

    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
    Thanks!

  2. Right here is the perfect website for anybody who really wants to find out about this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not
    that I personally will need to…HaHa). You certainly put
    a brand new spin on a subject that has been discussed for many years.

    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  3. I was curious if you ever considered changing the
    page layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this
    content together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving
    comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  5. I don’t even know the way I stopped up right here,
    however I believed this post was great. I do not understand who you’re but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger should you are not already.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

